Frank Sherlock named Philadelphia's Poet Laureate

At the appointment ceremony, from left to right: Siduri Beckman, Youth Poet Laureate; Beth Brandt, chairperson of the Mayor's Poet Laureate Governing Board; Frank Sherlock; Mayor Michael Nutter

On January 31, 2014, Frank Sherlock's appointment as Philadelphia's second Poet Laureate was announced by Mayor Michael Nutter at a ceremony at City Hall. The laureate was selected by the Mayor's Poet Laureate Governing Board. “I am honored and excited to appoint Frank Sherlock as Philadelphia’s second Poet Laureate,” said Mayor Nutter. “Frank is a native Philadelphian and a 2013 Pew Fellow in the Arts for Literature. He is one of Philadelphia’s most talented homegrown artists. I am confident that Frank will represent Philadelphia well during his term as Poet Laureate.”  “How lucky I am to be a poet in my favorite city in the world? This city raised me, beat the hell out of me a few times, and still reveals the magic of Philadelphia Brotherly Love,” said Sherlock.

The members of the Poet Laureate Governing Committee are:  Beth Feldman Brandt, poet and Executive Director of the Stockton Rush Bartol Foundation; Dr. Cathy Cohen, Education Director of ArtWell; Greg Corbin, Founder and Executive Director, Philadelphia Youth Poetry Movement;  Thomas Devaney, poet and Visiting Assistant Professor of Poetry at Haverford College; Lillian Dunn, Co-founder and Executive Editor of APIARY Magazine; Al Filreis, Kelly Writers House at the University of Pennsylvania; Mytili Jagannathan, poet and Principal of Itinerant Ink; Trapeta Mayson, poet; Autumn McClintock, poet and Assistant Chief of Staff at the Free Library of Philadelphia.

Sherlock performed a poem at the ceremony, and it was captured on video: