Samuel R. Delany

Samuel R. Delany is a critic and novelist, with essays and interviews collected in seven volumes, including Silent Interviews (1994), Longer Views (1996), and Shorter Views (1999). His award-winning autobiography, The Motion of Light in Water (1988), and his novel Hogg (1995), were returned to print in 2004. His newest novel Phallos was reviewed in the Village Voice as “a lapidary, digital-age Pale Fire, tonally redolent of Valry’s Epilinos.” His other fictions include The Mad Man (1995) and Atlantis: Three Tales (1993). Dhalgren (1975) and his early science fiction — Babel-17 and Empire Star (both 1966), Nova (1968), Aye, and Gomorrah (collected stories 2003) — are currently published by Vintage Books. A multiple winner of both Hugo and Nebula Awards, Delany is also a recipient of the Pilgrim Award for outstanding scholarship in science fiction studies and a winner of the William Whitehead Memorial Award for a lifetime’s contribution to lesbian and gay literature. His scholarly interests include Walter Pater and the Oxford aesthetic movement and its influence on high modernism, as well as questions of race, gender, queer studies, and literary theory. After eleven years as a comparative literature professor at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst and a year and a half as an English professor at the State University of New York at Buffalo, Delany began as a professor of English and creative writing at Temple University in January 2001.